San Diego Voter Guide: 2018 Candidate Races

San Diego County 2018 Election Candidate Races

Key offices at the local San Diego and California state level will be voted on in the 2018 Primary Election this June. Carl DeMaio and the team at The DeMaio Report have thoroughly vetted these candidates and have issued an endorsement in almost every race.


Carl DeMaio is Chairman of Reform California and the leader of the statewide Gas Tax Repeal Campaign.  Carl also hosts a daily news and politics talk show weekdays from 3-6pm on NewsRadio 600 KOGO which can be heard statewide on the iHeartRadio App.

Among the factors that Carl DeMaio applies in issuing endorsements:

  • Opposition to tax hikes (like the dreaded Car and Gas Tax Hikes);
  • respect for the Constitution and personal freedoms; and
  • support for small businesses and job creation against excessive regulation.

Statewide Races                

Governor:  John Cox

Lt. Governor:  Cole Harris

Treasurer:  Greg Conlon

Attorney General:  Eric Early

Secretary of State:  Mark Meuser

Insurance Commissioner:  Steve Poizner

State Superintendent of Schools:  Marshall Tuck

Controller:  Konstantinos Roditis:  

Board of Equalization:  No endorsement – the position should be abolished.

US Senate:  James Bradley

US Congress

US Congress - District 49:  Diane Harkey

US Congress - District 50:  No endorsement. Definitely not Wells, Kahle, Malloy, Campa-Najar, or Butner.

US Congress - District 51:  John Renison

US Congress - District 52:  Omar Qudrat

US Congress - District 53:  Morgan Murtaugh

State Legislature

State Senate 36th District:  Pat Bates

State Senate 38th District:  Brian Jones

State Senate 40th District:  Luis Vargas

State Assembly 71st District:  Randy Voepel

State Assembly 75th District:  Marie Waldron

State Assembly 76th District:  Phil Graham

State Assembly 77th District:  No endorsement yet. 

State Assembly 78th District:  Maggie Campbell

State Assembly 79th District:  John Moore

State Assembly 80th District:  Lincoln Pickard

San Diego County Candidates

District Attorney:  Summer Stephan

Sheriff:  Bill Gore

Treasurer-Tax Collector:  Dan McAllister

County Assessor/Clerk:  Ernie Dronenberg

County Board of Supervisors – District 5:  Jim Desmond

County Board of Supervisors – District 4:  Bonnie Dumanis

Superior Court Judge – Office No 28:  Herbert Exarhos

Superior Court Judge – Office No 37:  Steve Miller

County Board of Education

District 3:  Eric Lund

District 5:  Cheryl James Ward

City Candidates

  • City of San Diego

City Council District 2:  Lorie Zapf

City Council District 4:  Tony Villafranca

City Council District 6:  No endorsement.  Incumbent Chris Cate has been a big disappointment.

City Council District 8:  No Endorsement – What’s the point: you are doomed.

  • Chula Vista

Mayor:  Hector Gastelum

City Attorney:  Glen Googins

City Council District 1:  Not John McCann – he’s for raising taxes!

City Council District 2:  Steve Stenberg

Schools and College Districts

  • Grossmont-Cuymaca Community College

Area 1:  John Olsen

Area 2:  Bill Exeter

Area 5:  Teresa Rosiak

  • San Diego Community College District

District A:  Diane Hickman

District C:  Loren Casuto

District E:  Allan Candelore

  • San Diego Unified School District

District B:  Tom Keliinoi (WRITE IN)

District C:  Marcia Nordstrom (WRITE IN)

The views and opinions expressed here are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of the station or iHeartMedia.

Repeal the California Gas Tax
San Diego Voter Guide - 2018 Primary Election
California Voter Guide - 2018 Primary Election
2018 California Election Guide

2018 California Election Guide

The 2018 California General Election is November 6, 2018 and the ballot is very long. With several confusing ballot measures and hundreds of candidates running for office, voters can feel overwhelmed and lost. Fortunately, Carl DeMaio and the... Read more


Content Goes Here