Contact San Diego City Council to Support San Diego Humane Society

posted by Mary - 

The San Diego City Council is threatening to scuttle an important neighborhood service all because some politicians on the City Council want to force the unionization of the non-profit San Diego Humane Society.

That’s right – city politicians want to unionize the Humane Society!

The City Council will vote Monday, April 30 on an agreement with the San Diego Human Society to provide animal control services. The services will include dealing with dead animal removal and responding to complaints about aggressive animal behavior. We need to tell the City Council to approve the agreement as is – without any requirement that the Humane Society support the formation of a union for its workers.

What would a unionized Humane Society look like? It would cost more and provide fewer services for animals and residents alike. Worse, volunteers would be marginalized and even possibly banned from providing free services that the union might insist be done by dues-paying union workers at taxpayer expense.

Some City politicians are willing to risk the shut down of all animal control services after July 1 all in an attempt to satisfy the union bosses who are offering them campaign cash to force the Humane Society into a union agreement.

Call all members of the City Council – and pay particular attention to Chris Ward, Myrtle Cole, Barbara Bry and Georgette Gomez.

District 1 – Barbara Bry 

Barbara Bry: barbarabry@sandiego.gov

Chief of Staff, Jamie Fox: jfox@sandiego.gov

Phone: (619) 236-6611

District 2 – Lorie Zapf

Lorie Zapf – loriezapf@sandiego.gov

Chief of Staff, Kelly Batten: kmbatten@sandiego.gov

Phone: (619) 236-6622

District 3 – Chris Ward 

Chris Ward: christopherward@sandiego.gov

Chief of Staff, Molly Chase: mbchase@sandiego.gov

Phone: (619) 236-6633

District 4 – Myrtle Cole 

Myrtle Cole: myrtlecole@sandiego.gov

Chief of Staff, Jimmie Slack: jslack@sandiego.gov

Phone: (619) 236 - 6644

District 5 – Mark Kersey 

Mark Kersey: markkersey@sandiego.gov

Chief of Staff, Elizabeth Spillane: espillane@sandiego.gov

Phone: (619) 236-6655

District 6 – Chris Cate 

Chris Cate: chriscate@sandiego.gov

Chief of Staff, James Hauser: jhauser@sandiego.gov

Phone: (619) 236-6616

District 7 – Scott Sherman

Scott Sherman: scottsherman@sandiego.gov

Chief of Staff, Barrett Tetlow: btetlow@sandiego.gov

Phone: (619) 236-6677

District 8 – David Alvarez

David Alvarez – davidalvarez@sandiego.gov

Chief of Staff, Travis Knowles: knowlesT@sandiego.gov

Phone: (619) 236-6688

District 9 – Georgette Gomez

Georgette Gomez: georgettegomez@sandiego.gov

Chief of Staff, Dominika Bukalova: dbukalova@sandiego.gov

Phone: (619) 236-6699

The DeMaio Report

The DeMaio Report

The DeMaio Report offers candid discussion on the latest in local and national political headlines, policies and reform. The show also features input and commentary from listeners, fueling political conversation and engagement in the larger San... Read more

title

Content Goes Here