The DeMaio Report: Sign Petition to Stop Raiding Of Road Repair Funds!

Contact these San Diego politicians to stop the raid on road repair funds and demand the projects we were promised!

Carl DeMaio is leading a campaign to stop the politicians from raiding our road repair funds and is fighting the new tax hikes the politicians want to impose to increase the already-massive taxpayer subsidies for the little-used transit and bike lanes.

On Friday, April 26th, San Diego County’s regional transportation planning agency, SANDAG, released a plan to cut 14 freeway and highway improvements and shift all of that money into “transit” for downtown San Diego and to fund conversion of road lanes to dedicated bike lanes.

In 2004, voters passed a 40-year tax increase because politicians had released a specific list of road improvement projects (I-8, I-5, Hwy 52, Hwy 67, Hwy 78, etc.) that they promised would be completed with these tax dollars. This plan would specifically overturn the vote of the people and steal them money from road projects.The result will be those roads will remain clogged with traffic and riddled with potholes.

“SANDAG has been plagued by scandal and mismanagement for years and now the agency wants to dilute what little integrity it has left by violating the will of the voters” said Carl DeMaio. “It is time that voters band together, speak loudly, and demand that politicians keep the promises they made to voters in 2004” DeMaio concluded.

SANDAG and its subsidiary MTS also propose higher taxes: both a massive Sales Tax hike and a “Congestion Tax” for anyone wanting to use the roads – with all that money going to transit, not roads.

San Diegans can work together and tell our local elected officials to VOTE NO on this new plan. We must demand that any plan without the road, highway, and freeway improvements is simply unacceptable.

Do TWO THINGS right now:

First, sign the petition to stop the raids on our road funds at www.FixSanDiegoRoads.org

Second, contact the politicians below ASAP!

LIKELY ROAD DEFENDERS, TAXPAYER ADVOCATES

Top priority: Call these individuals and urge them to continue to vote NO on the raids on our road repair funds and to oppose the unfair Transit Sales Tax hike and Congestion Pricing Fee 

·Escondido Mayor Paul McNamara

oEmail: pmcnamara@escondido.org

oPhone: 760-839-4610

·La Mesa City Councilmember Kristine Alessio

oEmail: kalessio@ci.la-mesa.ca.us

oPhone: 619-667-1106

·Santee Mayor John Minto

oEmail: Jminto@cityofsanteeca.gov

oPhone: 619-258-4100 x295

San Diego County Supervisor Jim Desmond

o Email Jim.Desmond@sdcounty.ca.gov

o Phone 619-531-5555

San Diego County Supervisor Kristin Gaspar

o Email: Kristin.Gaspar@sdcounty.ca.gov

o Phone 619-531-5533

·San Marcos Mayor Rebecca Jones

oEmail: RJones@san-marcos.net

oPhone: 760-744-1050

·El Cajon Mayor Bill Wells

oEmail: N/A

oPhone: 619-441-1788

·Oceanside Deputy Mayor, Councilmember Jack Feller

oEmail: JFeller@oceansideca.org

oPhone: 760-453-3056

·Poway Mayor Steve Vaus

oEmail: svaus@poway.org

oPhone: 858-668-4522

·Coronado Mayor Richard Bailey

oEmail: RBailey@coronado.ca.us

oPhone: 619-522-7320

·Vista Mayor Judy Ritter

oEmail: JRitter@cityofvista.com

oPhone: 760-639-6130

CONFIRMED ROAD RAIDERS, TAX HIKERS

Low priority: these individuals do NOT care what you think – they have already made up their minds to raid road funds and hike taxes on working families.Remember their names at the next election and vote them out!

·San Diego Mayor Kevin Faulconer

oEmail: KevinFaulconer@sandiego.gov

oPhone: 619-236-6330

·San Diego Council President Georgette Gomez

oEmail: GeorgetteGomez@sandiego.gov

oPhone: 619-236-6699

·Encinitas Mayor Catherine Blakespear

oEmail: CBlakespear@encinitas.gov

oPhone: 760-633-2620

·Lemon Grove Mayor Racquel Vasquez

oEmail: rvasquez@lemongrove.ca.gov

oPhone: 619-825-3800

·Carlsbad City Councilmember Cori Schumacher

oEmail: cori.schumacher@carlsbadca.gov

oPhone: 760-450-8863

·Chula Vista Mayor Mary Casillas Salas

oEmail: msalas@chulavistaca.gov

oPhone: 619-691-5044

·Del Mayor Deputy Mayor Ellie Haviland

oEmail: EHaviland@delmar.ca.us

oPhone: 858-755-9313

·Imperial Beach Mayor Serge Dedina

oEmail: 619-423-8303

oPhone: Mayor@imperialbeachca.gov

·National City Mayor Alejandra Sotelo-Solis

oEmail: ASoteloSolis@nationalcityca.gov

oPhone: 619-336-4283

·Solana Beach Mayor David Zito

oEmail: DZito@cosb.org

oPhone: 858-720-4491

Newsradio 600 KOGO · San Diego's News & Information Station

Listen Now on iHeartRadio

outbrain pixel