San Diego Padres Make MLB History with 4th Straight Grand Slam!

For the first time in Major League Baseball history, a team has hit a grand slam in FOUR consecutive games. That team is the San Diego Padres!

The previous grand slam record was broke on Thursday with a hit from Eric Hosmer in the fifth inning against the Texas Rangers.

Here's who hit what and when:

  1. August 17 - hit by Padres shortstop Fernando Tatis
  2. August 18 - hit by Padres outfielder Wil Myers
  3. August 19 - hit by Padres third baseman Manny Machado
  4. August 20 - hit by Padres first baseman Eric Hosmer

While the Padres and all of San Diego are celebrating these history-making plays, there are some in the MLB who feel that many unwritten rules of the game are being challenged. Rangers' manager Chris Woodward had this to day during the post-game press conference, responded “I think there's a lot of unwritten rules that are constantly being challenged in today's game. Yeah, I didn't like it, personally. You're up by seven in the eighth inning — it's typically not a good time to swing 3-0. It's kind of the way we were all raised in the game. But, like I said, the norms are being challenged on a daily basis, so just because I don't like it doesn't mean it's not right. I don't think we liked it as a group.”

In response, Padres manager Jayce Tingler said, "I don’t know what to say, they’re creating opportunities, they’re getting pressure in the zone, guys are getting out of the zone and we load them up and they’ve been ready to hit.”

Eric Hosmer on 4th straight Padres Grand Slam! Marty Caswell, XTRA 1360

Will Myers on Padres win Big Grand Slam and win over Ranger. Marty Caswell, XTRA 1360

Manny Machado on walk-off Grand Slam. Marty Caswell, XTRA 1360.

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content